Lotus cesarean birth

In honor of Doctor’s Day, I’m doing this post about couple’s desire to do something outside the “norm” for their birth, and their doctor’s willingness to work with them.

Its a very interesting story about a lotus cesarean birth.  Wikipedia gives a nice overview of what a lotus birth is and why people consider doing this.  There are many resources out there about it.

Its difficult enough to do it in the hospital because of “procedures”, but with a bit of self-advocacy and some willing doctors, this couple even did it by cesarean.  Read their story here.

http://www.womenofspirit.asn.au/StoriesMelissaLotus.htm

What do you think?  Know of anyone who’s had a lotus birth?  a lotus cesarean?

This entry was posted in Birth, cesarean birth and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lotus cesarean birth

  1. Holly says:

    I loved this story! We did a Lotus Birth with our most recent baby, though it went a little wrong and we ended up cutting the cord on the 4th day. I could feel at the moment I cut it that it caused him great pain and I regret it – I could feel from how he cried that it was a deeper kind of pain than just physical. I wish I would have thought through the logistics of it a little more, and I think with the next child I will try again with some modifications. When I decided I wanted to try it, I did not have any strong spiritual convictions about it, as the family in the story did, but there is something about it that speaks to me, and after my experience with it, I feel even more strongly about it. Its awesome to see an example even with a cesarean and I am sure this info will help me advocate for my clients more effectively. I know it feels a little woo-woo, but I “get it” on a gut-feeling level.

    • Holly,

      thanks for this perspective. I love that your gut tells you its the right thing. When there’s no risk involved (just inconvenience), that’s enough for me!

      You mention advocating for your doula clients. Have you had a client who has done a Lotus hospital birth? Have you had someone be denied the right to a Lotus hospital birth?

Leave a comment